Orlando shooting: How easy is it to buy a gun in Florida?



Why choose wikiHow?
wikiHow marks an article as reader approved once we have received enough feedback to know that most readers were able to successfully complete the task. In this case, we have also received several testimonials from our readers, who told us how this article truly helped them.

How to Buy a Gun in Florida

Three Methods:

With only a background check (and, for hand guns, a 72-hour waiting period) required to purchase firearms, the state of Florida has relatively lax gun restrictions compared to many other U.S. states. Despite this, the process of legally buying a gun can require some explanation, especially to someone who has never done so before. In addition, since the laws surrounding open and concealed carry are somewhat more complex, it's important to understand these laws before purchasing a gun in the state.

Steps

Getting a Concealed Weapon License

  1. Understand the purpose of a concealed weapon license.In Florida, most forms of open carry (that is, openly brandishing or displaying your firearm in public) are illegal unless the gun owner is participating in certain legal activities (like target shooting, performing military/police work, and so on). To be able to carry a gun on one's person for personal protection, it's necessary to have a concealed weapon license. Carrying a concealed gun without this license is a crime that can potentially result in a felony.
    • Note that, in Florida, the concealed weapon license also certifies you to carry certain other weapons besides guns, including knives, billy clubs, tear gas guns, and other weapons.
  2. Determine whether you meet the eligibility requirements.Florida's Concealed Weapon License has requirements that are slightly more restrictive than those to simply purchase a firearm. The main requirements are:
    • You must be 21 years old.
    • You must be able to demonstrate competency with your firearm.
    • Except in certain cases (such as if you are a member of the armed forces), you must be able to prove that you reside in the United States.
    • You must not have certain crimes or demerits on your official record, including but not limited to: felony convictions, two DUIs in the last three years, a violent misdemeanor conviction in the last three years, evidence of substance abuse, dishonorable discharge from the armed forces, evidence of domestic violence.
  3. Demonstrate proficiency with your weapon.The biggest difference between the requirements for buying a Handgun and those for obtaining a concealed weapon license is that the applicant must provide proof of competency with their weapon. There are a number of officially-recognized ways to prove this, including:
    • Completing a state hunter education course
    • Completing a National Rifle Association training course
    • Completing a firearms safety course by any certified law enforcement agency or educational organization
    • Completing a firearms safety course as part of job training (e.g., for police and security work)
  4. Submit your application.The application for the concealed weapon license can be viewed and downloaded from the official website of the Florida Department of Agriculture. The application can be completed at home and mailed in with all required documentation or via an in-person appointment at one of eight regional offices located throughout Florida — the addresses of these offices are also available online.
    • In addition to your completed application, you must also include a color photograph and a legible record of your fingerprints (submitted electronically via your local law enforcement agency).
  5. Include payment for your license.Don't forget to include a payment of 2 for first-time applicants ( for processing the application, for processing the fingerprints) with your application. License renewal is and replacement/duplicate licenses are .
    • Note that several exceptions to this fee structure exist: for instance, if you have already submitted your fingerprints electronically, you don't need to pay the fee, and if you are a consular security official, you will be subjected to additional fees — consult the official application fee instructions for more information.
  6. Wait for approval.Once you've completed and submitted your application, all you need to do is wait! Your application will be reviewed by the state licensing agency, and, if it is approve, you will receive your license shortly. While you wait, you may want to use the official Florida licensing website to monitor your progress online.
  7. Know where concealed carry is illegal.Once you receive your concealed carry license, you are legally allowed to carry your firearm with you for personal protection purposes in Florida and are not required to disclose this information. Note, however, that there are certain places where it is illegal to bring a firearm even if you have a valid concealed weapon permit. These include:
    • Courtrooms
    • School campuses
    • Police stations
    • Polling places
    • Most government buildings
    • Airports
    • Any place where federal law prohibits guns

Buying a Long Gun

  1. Verify that you meet Florida's criteria for buying a long gun.Like buying alcohol, smoking tobacco, voting, or driving a car, purchasing a long gun (a long-barreled gun braced against the shoulder, like a shotgun, rifle, etc.) is legally off-limits to certain categories of people in the state of Florida. While most law-abiding adults will have no problem meeting these qualifications, if you don't, you can't legally purchase a gun — no exceptions. The basic requirements are:
    • You must be at least 21 years of age.
    • You must not be a convicted felon.
    • You must not have a history of mental illness.
    • You must not have a record of domestic violence.
    • You must not abuse drugs or alcohol.
    • Note, however, that it is legal topossess and use a gunfrom age 16 onward (and at younger ages with adult supervision) for certain legal activities (hunting, target shooting, etc.).
  2. Visit a federally-licensed dealer to buy the gun.The state of Florida does not require firearms dealers to carry a state license. However, the federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF) still requires gun sellers to obtain a federal-level license.
    • Refer to a Florida city phone book or, alternatively, perform an internet search to locate a firearms dealer in your area.
    • Don't forget to bring current, valid identification (such as your Florida driver's license) with you to the firearms dealer to prove your age and identity. The name and address on your identification must be current.
  3. Complete the background check form.After selecting the gun you want to buy, the firearms dealer will provide you with a form to complete that they will then use in conducting the background check with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. This part of the process is required for every purchase — you can buy as many guns as you wish at once, but each time you make a new purchase, you'll need to complete another background check form.
    • The background check form will ask you to provide basic personal information including your name, date of birth, contact information, and more.
    • Note that possession of a concealed weapons permit from Florida or any other state does not exempt you from the background check.
  4. Wait for the firearms dealer to complete the background check.After receiving the completed form, the dealer will call the Florida Department of Law Enforcement to receive an instant background check based on the information you provided. If you pass this check (in other words, if your official records don't contain evidence of mental illness, domestic violence, felony convictions, etc.), you will be approved and you may purchase your gun.
    • Note that some firearms dealers may require you to pay an eight dollar fee for the background check.
  5. Wait 72 hours to receive your gun.Florida is one of ten states that imposes waiting periods on people who wish to buy guns. After the completion of a background check, the purchaser must wait three days (72 hours) to be able to receive their gun. This law is designed to prevent impulsive acts of violence like suicide and murder by giving potential perpetrators a chance to "cool down" before they get potentially lethal firepower.

Buying a Handgun

  1. Be 21 years old in addition to the long gun criteria.In Florida, the process of purchasing a Handgun isslightlymore regulated than the process of purchasing a long gun. In addition to meeting all the restrictive criteria for buying a long gun, a person who wants to purchase a Handgun must also be 21 years old — not 18.
    • Technically, a Handgun is a firearm designed to be held and fired with one or both hands (not against the shoulder like a rifle). This includes most semiautomatic pistols and revolvers.
  2. Buy your gun through a licensed dealer as normal.Just as with long guns, the State of Florida doesn't require any sort of special license or permit to sell hand guns commercially. However, the same federal licensing rules apply as with long guns, so only purchase from dealers that are licensed by the ATF.
    • Additionally, hand guns require the same background check as with long guns. This is true regardless of whether the purchaser has a concealed license permit from Florida or any other state.
  3. Wait 72 hours to receive your gun.Florida is one of ten states that imposes waiting periods on people who wish to buy guns. After the completion of a background check, the purchaser must wait three days (72 hours) to be able to receive their gun. This law is designed to prevent impulsive acts of violence like suicide and murder by giving potential perpetrators a chance to "cool down" before they get potentially lethal firepower.
    • Note that weekends and legal holidays do not count as part of the 72-hour waiting period — only business days.
    • Note also that there are two major exceptions to this rule: you are not required to wait 72 hours for your gun if you have a permit that allows you to carry concealed weapons or if you are trading in a handgun.

Community Q&A

Search
  • Question
    Can I have a hand gun in the glove compartment of my car or in my trunk if I don't have a concealed license?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    Yes, as long as the firearm is "securely encased." Fl. Stat. s. 790.251(5) states "it is lawful and is not a violation of s. 790.01 for a person 18 years of age or older to possess a concealed firearm or other weapon for self-defense or other lawful purpose within the interior of a private conveyance, without a license, if the firearm or other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use."
    Thanks!
  • Question
    Is it standard to have to wait for two weeks to take possession of a handgun when the background check has been passed?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    No. The law in Florida is 3 business days, if you are cleared of a background check.
    Thanks!
  • Question
    While you're trying out the feel and weight of different guns, will a dealer permit you to use it for target practice to get a feel for the gun?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    Not in a stand-alone store. There are gun ranges, however, that have a selection of rental firearms. You typically pay a small fee to use any of the guns from the rental pool. This is a good way to get a feel for the type of gun you'd like to use.
    Thanks!
  • Question
    I have a .38 that was left to me in a trust. How do I become the registered owner?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    In Florida, you are not required to register a firearm unless it's an NFA firearm, such as a short barreled shotgun, short-barreled rifle, or machine gun. You are not required by law to register your .38 unless you live in a state that requires any type of firearm to be registered.
    Thanks!
  • Question
    If I purchase a gun using layaway, do I need to wait the 72 hours after the final payment?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    Yes, unless you have a concealed carry permit, you have to wait 72 hours after making the final payment.
    Thanks!
  • Question
    I am a resident of Florida, and have a concealed carry permit. What do I need to sell some of my long guns?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    Long guns may be privately transferred without the involvement of an FFL. However, the transfer has to be in person and it is suggested that you know who you are selling the firearms to. In other words, copy their driver's license and keep that information. If something happens down the road and that weapon is used in any illegal activity and it can be traced back to you, that can be a huge problem. It is always suggested that you transfer firearms through an FFL for your protection, if for no other reason.
    Thanks!
  • Question
    I'm a resident of Illinois and a part-time resident of Florida. I have a concealed weapon license for the state of Florida. Can I buy a firearm in Florida now?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    You must show proof of your Florida residency, such as a Florida property tax bill, and you will be able to purchase a firearm in Florida.
    Thanks!
  • Question
    Can I buy a gun when visiting from another state?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    No, you will need a new weapons license from the state you're visiting if you don't have an IWL.
    Thanks!
  • Question
    I am a resident of PA with a PA driver's license and a permit to carry a concealed weapon issued there. I own a home in FL as well, and I'm a resident about 5 months per year in FL, may I purchase a handgun in FL based on these circumstances?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    Yes, Florida has Carry Permit Reciprocity for PA. As long as you follow the laws of Florida while carrying your firearm, there is no difference between your PA Carry Permit and a Florida one.
    Thanks!
  • Question
    I accepted a dishonorable discharge forty years ago, but I want a shotgun now. Will my discharge eliminate my eligibility?
    wikiHow Contributor
    Community Answer
    As long as it's not a felony discharge, then you can own a shotgun, but you will not be able to get a concealed weapons permit.
    Thanks!
Unanswered Questions
  • Does a concealed carry course fulfill the requirement for a firearm safety course? Are they the same?
  • I am an out of state resident and own property in Florida, both held in a revocable trust . Can I buy a gun in Florida?
  • Im a resident of New York and part time resident (home owner) in Florida. I have a concealed weapon license in New York and Florida. Can I buy a handgun in Florida now?
  • I am an N.J. resident with a Florida Concealed Carry Permit. Can I buy a pistol to keep at my in-laws so I don't have to travel (fly) with one?
  • Can someone who owns a home in Florida and is a resident for six months out of the year purchase a gun in Florida?
Ask a Question
200 characters left
Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered.
  • The state of Florida does not require you to register your handgun with Florida Law Enforcement, and does not require you to report handguns that have been lost or stolen.
  • You must be at least 21 years of age to buy a handgun from a licensed dealer, 18 to receive a handgun as a gift, and 18 for all rifles and shotguns.

Warnings

  • Note that you are not required by law to disclose your possession of a gun to a law enforcement officer if you have a concealed weapon permit. However, if the officer asks to see your license, you must provide it.





Video: Florida's New Gun Control Explained in 6 Minutes - The Legal Brief!

How to Buy a Gun in Florida
How to Buy a Gun in Florida images

2019 year
2019 year - How to Buy a Gun in Florida pictures

How to Buy a Gun in Florida forecasting
How to Buy a Gun in Florida recommend photo

How to Buy a Gun in Florida images
How to Buy a Gun in Florida picture

How to Buy a Gun in Florida How to Buy a Gun in Florida new photo
How to Buy a Gun in Florida new photo

pictures How to Buy a Gun in Florida
images How to Buy a Gun in Florida

Watch How to Buy a Gun in Florida video
Watch How to Buy a Gun in Florida video

Communication on this topic: How to Buy a Gun in Florida, how-to-buy-a-gun-in-florida/
Discussion on this topic: How to Buy a Gun in Florida, how-to-buy-a-gun-in-florida/ , how-to-buy-a-gun-in-florida/

Related News


How to Make a Makeup Artist Portfolio
How to Use Petroleum Jelly for Beauty Uses
How to Play PlayStation 2 Games on a PC Using PCSX2
How to Get ATV Insurance
Moroccan Coriander Vegetable Soup
Why women prefer tall men
A Word on the Left
How to Be Happy: 7 Lies That Are Holding You Back
Couture Fashion Week: 39 divine pictures to pore over
Know What your Nails Say about your Health
Italian Super-Food Burgers, Balsamic Onions, Mozzarella and Slaw Recipe
Kim Kardashian Posts Nude Post-Baby Selfie
How to Caramelize Garlic
6 Petite Clothing Brands You Have to Check OutNow
Rita Ora’s Cute Quirky My Little Pony Dress



Date: 12.12.2018, 10:50 / Views: 53165